SCIENCE FORUM ACTIVITIES (2014-2015)

Theme for the year 2014-15: Family Farming

United Nations declared 2014 as international Year of Family Farming and in par with it science forum theme for the year 2014-15 is Family Farming. The main focus is to generate general attention on the importance of family farming and to advocate for the encouragement of family farming. Science forum introduced variety programmes such as exhibition, quiz and essay competitions based on this theme.

The co-ordinators of Science Forum are:-

Dr. Litty Mathew Irimpan - Department of Physics

Dr. Deepa G Muricken - Department of Bio-ChemistrySmt. Jerin Jose - Department of Microbiology

Science Forum Representatives of various departments:-

Mathematics:			
	B Sc		
		I Year	Kum Rhea Davis
		II Year	Kum. Anjaly Anto
		III Year	Kum. Sreeja Santhoshkumar V
Botany			
	B Sc		
		I Year	Kum. Ayana Elma Shaji
		II Year	Kum. Amritha M S
		III Year	Kum. Aparna P S
Chemistry			
	B Sc		
		I Year	Kum. Aarsha Jayaraj
		II Year	Kum. Anna M B
		III Year	Kum. Sreedurga B M

Microbiology		
B Sc		
	I Year	Kum. Neena Sivaramdas
	II Year	Kum. Anjaly Varier
	III Year	Kum. Sreedevi P K
Biotechnology		
B Sc		
	I Year	Kum. Sandra Suresh
	II Year	Kum. Karthika Ashok
	III Year	Kum. Sincy O V
Computer Science		
BCA		
	I Year	Kum. Surya Chand P C
	II Year	Kum. Tina Thomas
	III Year	Kum. Leedhiya Sebastian

> Exhibition on Family Farming



In connection with International Year of Family Farming,

Science Forum and Department of Physics of St. Mary's College organized an exhibition "Illam Nira" on Tuesday, 25th November, 2014 from 9.00 A M to 3 P M. The Principal Sr. Dr. Chrislin inaugurated the exhibition at 9 am. All the staff members, non-teaching staff, students of our college and students from the neighboring schools observed the different stalls. It includes all family-based agricultural activities, Backyard farming, Balcony farming, Biowastes, traditional knowledge, uses and advantages of medicinal plants, vegetables and fruits.

In addition to Cartoons, Quotes and Poems, a Film show on the importance of family farming is also screened. Most of them recorded their opinion that the exhibition was excellent. ACV News channel, TCV and Newspapers such as Malayala manorama, Mathrubhumi and Deepika reported the event.



> Seminar & Quiz on Nobel Prize Winners

The aim of this program is the enhancement of student-faculty interactive partnerships to strengthen education. The unique nature of the quiz is the nature of the participating teams which consists of one faculty, one PG student and 2 UG students. The expected outcome of this programme is to develop a research culture in the college that will occur through the close interaction of the faculty with the students by sharing their time, expertise and intelligence.

Seminar

The Seminar & Quiz on Nobel Prize Winners is held on 7th January 2015 which is sponsored by Sopanam, Dr. C V Krishnan & Mrs. Nalini P Krishnan Charitable Trust, Thrissur. The Seminar is from 9.30 am to 11 30 am on the topic "Raman - co traveller of light and colour" and "Is there a GPS in our brain?" by Prof. V P N Nampoori, Emeritus Scientist, International School of Photonics, Cochin University of Science and Technology. He talks about the life history of Raman, Raman Effect

and Raman Research Institute. He also talks about this year's Nobel Prize in Medicine.



Quiz

The 4 Nobel Prize Winners are selected for the quiz which includes C V Raman, Marie Curie, Alexander Fleming, George Bernard Shaw and Winston Churchil. It is announced in July and the preliminary round is conducted on 7th January 2015. The quiz master is Dr. Jijo P Ulahannan, Assistant Professor in Physics, Maharaja's College, Ernakulam. 17 Teachers, 19 PG students and 109 UG students of various discipline participated in the preliminary written test and 6 groups are selected for the final round. The selected groups for the final round are

1 Ms. Neetha C Menon (Faculty)

Ms. Theresa V O (M Sc Psychology)

2 Dr. T Geetha (Faculty)

Ms. Rinitha M H (M Sc Psychology)

	Ms. Athira M R (III BSc Microbiology)	Ms. Sreedurga B M (III BSc Chemistry)
3	Ms. Aleena Babu (III BSc Microbiology) Ms. Liji Maliakkel (Faculty)	Ms. Manju Joshy (III BSc Chemistry) 4 Dr. Bincy Joseph (Faculty)
3	Ms. Athira Krishnan (M Sc Botany)	Ms. Lakshmi P Pradeep (M.Com)
	Ms. Athira Haridas (III B Sc Botany)	Ms. Neethu K K(II BSc Chemistry)
	Ms. Blessy Santhosh (II B Sc Botany)	Ms. Bhavya Krishnan(IIBSc Chemistry)
5	Ms. Sruthy Raj (Faculty)	6 Ms. Manita Gabriel (Faculty)
	Ms. Ann Rose Jacob (M Sc Maths)	Ms.Denna Davis(M.Com)
	Ms.Roshni K P(III BCA)	Ms.Anjali Variyar(II BSc Microbiology)
	Ms.Praseetha Surendran(III BCA)	Ms.Rhea Davis (I B Sc Mathematics)



The Winners of final round are:

I Prize	Ms. Neetha C Menon (Faculty)		
	Ms. Theresa V O (M Sc Psychology)		
	Ms. Athira M R (III BSc Microbiology)		
	Ms. Aleena Babu (III BSc Microbiology)		
II Prize	Ms.Manita Gabriel (Faculty)		
	Ms.Denna Davis(M.Com)		
	Ms.Anjali Variyar(II BSc Microbiology)		
	Ms.Rhea Davis (I B Sc Mathematics)		
III Prize	Dr. T Geetha (Faculty)		
	Ms. Rinitha M H (M Sc Psychology)		
	Ms. Sreedurga B M (III BSc Chemistry)		
	Ms. Manju Joshy (III BSc Chemistry)		

